Sullivan Free Library's Blog

June 12, 2010

Guest Blog: Author C.J. Barry: My Love Affair With Words

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sullivan Free Library @ 8:05 pm
Tags: , ,
Our blog today is written by C.J. Barry, a local author who is a long time patron and supporter of the
Sullivan Free Library.  Her latest book, "Body Master", will be released in August.

 My Love Affair With Words

I have loved books forever.  I still remember parts of books I read when I was in grade school--the feel
of well-worn paper, the creak of the bindings, the smell of words on a page.  That was when my love affair
with the written word began.  I would read everything I could get my hands on, but my favorite books were
science fictions.  Magical worlds, strange new beings, and stories that melded humans and technology.

Unfortunately, my appetite for books seemed to always outstrip my ability to buy new ones.  We weren't
ever well off when I was growing up, but my Mom made sure we all had library cards and brought us there
frequently.  I'd leave with the maximum number of books they'd allow, and I read every single one. 
Without access to those free books, I would not be the person I am today.  Every story, every word formed
my place in this world, and gave me the freedom to imagine beyond what we see in our day-to-day lives.

Almost fifty years later, that discovery goes far beyond what I ever thought possible with the publication
of my own books.  My eighth novel comes out this August.  Eight books that I wrote every word of.  Eight
books sprung from a mind freed by public libraries.

As I watch my own children become avid readers, I find myself fiercely protective of public libraries
and all the wonderful opportunities they provide.  I want libraries to continue and remain the safe
sanctuaries that they are now for my children and my children's children.  I wish to thank all the staff,
volunteers and patrons of libraries everywhere for their support and service.  Without you, I wouldn't
have discovered and embraced my imagination.  Without that, I would not have become an author and landed
the best job of a lifetime.

C.J. grew up reading  science  fiction novels, comic books, and her brother's Cracked  magazines.
 In high school, a creative writing teacher told her she  should be a writer, but she decided to go to
college instead. In  college, a writing professor told her she should be a writer, but she  decided to be a
 computer programmer instead. A husband, a cat and  two kids later, an adult education teacher told
her she should be a  writer.  She finally gave in, and after selling the first novel she  ever wrote, decided
that all those teachers were right. Seven  novels later, she continues to bring her unique blend of high
adventure and sizzling romance to her romantic suspense novels. 

C.J has won numerous awards  for her novels, and is a member of the Romance Writers of  America.  By day, she works as
a  technical writer. By night, she co-hosts a writing podcast, dreams  up adventures, and pens the books she was destined
to write.
1 Comment »

  1. Thanks, Cindy! I think many of us can relate to starting a love of language and reading early, thanks to our parents and local libraries. I can remember walking to my library (Oneida Public Library) several times a week when I was a kid. My goal was to read all of the books in the children’s section. I started with the A’s and was working my way through the shelves. Except they kept buying MORE books and messing up my system!

    Comment by sullivanfreelibrary — June 12, 2010 @ 10:55 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

